What I’m Reading: October

I love reading. There’s nothing quite like snuggling up with a warm blanket, a cup of tea, and a good book.Reading in bed so late that your eyes are drooping and you’re nearly falling asleep but you can’t put down the book because you have to know what happens. Reading books that are so good you only put them down when you need to use the bathroom or get food. Tears streaming down your face as you experience the pain and heartbreak that the characters are feeling. Groaning and cringing as a character does something so stupid that you’re embarrassed for them. Seeing yourself in the characters. Learning so much.

It’s a kind of entertainment that is deep, educational, and meaningful.

I’m currently reading Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. It takes a while to get into, but once you do, you’re invested. I love Jane Austen. When I read Pride and Prejudice, I was so sad that I had watched the movie first (normally I like to read the book before I watch the movie; in this case I was sick and we had nothing else good to watch so I went for it even though I hadn’t read the book) because I already knew what happened so it took away from the experience of reading it.

img_0138

I’m also reading Treason by Don Brown. I’m terrible at explaining and describing things, so here’s part of the description from Amazon: The stakes are high . . . and the entire world is waiting for the verdict. The Navy has uncovered a group of radical Islamic clerics who have infiltrated the Navy Chaplain Corps, inciting sailors and marines to acts of terrorism. And Lieutenant Zack Brewer has been chosen to prosecute them for treason and murder. This book is so enthralling. Once you start reading, it’s hard to put it down. And it’s a series of three books, so once I finish Treason I have two more books to read.

As you can see I read a variety of books. I don’t have one genre that I stick with. I have a few that I avoid, like horror and crime and romance. When I was 10 I read ALL of Karen Kingsbury’s books and that put me off romance for, like, ever.

 

img_4745

What kind of books do you like? What are you reading right now? Book or movie first?

 

Leave a Reply

