Country

Last night we went to Lone Star for dinner. It was so good! It was country themed, with a rustic feel, country music playing, and posters of country artists on the wall. Many items on the menu were named after country songs. It was amazing. I love country and it was the perfect place for someone like me. The food was absolutely delicious and the whole experience was just great. I’m still starry-eyed.

Then we were looking up wild west towns- I didn’t know that was a thing?! There’s one here in New Zealand we’re dying to go to. I know it’s kinda fake because they are for tourists- but um, so is a museum. There’s so much history and heritage. A few months ago I got to tour a house from the 1800s, Hovander House in Ferndale, WA. I’d been to Hovander park a few times but never in the house, and I was amazed. I felt like I was in Pride and Prejudice. It was so real. A lot of times it’s easy to think about history as boring because we focus on dates and facts, but I think it’s fascinating to learn what it was really like then, and to see how people lived, to see the places and feel like you’re there. I love history.

I was always a little afraid to take a history class because I was worried that it would be boring. What professor you have can really change the class. I’ve taken a class I thought would be fascinating only to have a professor who managed to dull it down enough that it was one of my least favorite classes. And I’ve taken a class that I thought would be boring only to have a professor who made it so fun and interesting that it was one of my favorite classes ever. I finally took history last quarter, and I’m so glad I did! It was American history during the 1900s. So fascinating! My professor was amazing and made the class interesting and relevant. That class was one of the best I’ve ever taken. Now I’m even more interested in history than ever. I’ve always enjoyed history, but now I love it more than ever. My favorite time periods are the Civil War, WWII, and the 50s.

I’ll be posting soon about Equidays, but for now here are a few of the beautiful horses I got to see.

Leave a Reply

