Almost, Maybe, Not-Quite Fall?

Hey! It’s turning to fall here and I’m actually pretty excited about it! Fall officially starts the day before I leave for New Zealand… and when I get there, it’ll be spring and then summer… and by the time I come back home it will be spring here. So I’m missing out on fall and winter this year. I can’t really say I’m too disappointed because I’m not a huge fan of the cold. But on the other hand… fall. It’s so cozy and full of pumpkins and plaid and golden leaves. Curling up with a blanket and a steaming cup of tea to read a good book. Listening to the rain pouring down and the wind howling. I think it’s beautiful. This week it’s rainy, and I’m glad because I want to enjoy a bit of fall before I leave! The leaves are turning brown and falling, and we’re splitting and stacking wood like crazy here. We have a wood stove, so if we don’t prepare during the summer, we freeze in the winter. Henry Ford once said, “Chop your own wood and it will warm you twice.” It’s true! I haven’t stacked wood in years (one nice thing about being busy and having little siblings;) ) so last night when we were outside working, it brought back great memories.

1455960_430187783747467_104133137_n

Enoch, Adalia, and me bringing in wood. 

IMG_8019

I took this photo at the Nooksack River this spring. It was just so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

