Smile

Today is a good day. I didn’t have to take the bro to work today so I got to sleep until 7 (9 hours of sleep!!! I feel amazing.) again, and I work at noon so I have the morning free. I have a long list of things to do before I head to NZ so I’m working on those.

Here is something I’ve been thinking about for maybe a year. I just never got around to developing the thought. One thing I love about best friends is they can say to your face, you have a problem. And you listen to them. I remember being told once that I was vain (okay now that I think of it I’ve probably been told that more than once). I was kind of insulted but then I swallowed my pride and began working on that area in my life. I’m glad my friend pointed that out because it was something I needed to hear. But our best friends aren’t the only ones who can point out areas we need to work on. Our families do that too. Maybe not so gently. I’ve been told, ‘you’re so annoying!’ and, ‘you’re mean’, and while I shrug it off because of course my little siblings will think I’m annoying, it’s something I should listen to. Because they were right. I can be mean. Instead of saying, ‘Well you’re even more annoying’, I should apologize and then think of what I can do to be nicer. When I’m stressed I can turn into a monster. ‘I don’t have time to do that, I can’t do that because I have seven hundred other things to do today, I don’t have time to be nice!’ Yes, I’ve really said something like that before. That’s definitely an area I need to work on. Thankfully work is much less stressful than school. I’m busier but not as stressed. But I may not be nicer, even though I’m less mean. Instead of ‘I don’t have time to be nice’, it’s ‘I’m sorry I’m so tired I just can’t I’m sorry honey’. But someone once said, ‘Be kind whenever possible… it is always possible.’ It can be hard but lately I’ve been trying to focus on how to be kind. Genuinely compliment someone. Take a few minutes out of your day to help them or spend time with them. Even something as simple as a smile can bring joy. I heard a quote once, ‘Be helpful. If you see someone without a smile, give him yours.’ How much extra time does it take to smile? And it even makes you feel better. It’s a win-win situation. There are so many sad people, wouldn’t you love to make someone’s day just a little better? A smile won’t cure everything but it can lift your mood, brighten your day, set you on the right track. Here’s my challenge to you. Smile at someone today. Just to brighten their day.

IMG_9273

Leave a Reply

