A New Garden and a Power Outage

IMG_9906

(this little green bean plant looks so sassy and cute!)

About a week and a half ago, I planted a garden. I planted peas, carrots, green beans, and lettuce. It has been doing so well! I was so excited when I first saw the little shoots of green emerging from the soil, although I think most of what I first saw was weeds. But now look at them! The above picture is a green bean plant.

We have had a small garden a few times before, but not really recently. So when I decided I wanted a garden, I didn’t have much to go on. But I mean how hard can it be? So I got the ground ready, bought seeds, and planted them! It’s so cool to watch these plants grow. They are bigger every day and it’s so crazy to think that two weeks ago these were just seeds, and now they’re green, growing plants!

IMG_9914

Lettuce!

Today I was at school (as usual… ughhh). Sitting in my most boring class, and the power went out! Now hey I know it’s not good when the power goes out… but we can find things to be thankful for! Like getting out of class twenty minutes early. That was pretty awesome. Power was out all over campus, and not only at Whatcom but the surrounding area. I don’t know what the cause is, but campus was closed for the day because they said they wouldn’t be able to get the power back for a while. So I wasn’t bummed at all. Okay well I’ll just admit I’m happy. I got in my truck, put on my music, rolled down my windows and turned on the ac because it’s HOT today! So I’m driving and I get to the first intersection where I always turn left to get home. And. The traffic light has no power. That’s not good! I never really appreciated traffic lights enough until today! No one knew what to do. In a situation like that I think you’re supposed to treat the intersection like a four way stop… right? Or an uncontrolled intersection (which you would treat as a four way stop, right?) I’m not sure. Neither was anyone else. No one really knew what to do so everyone was just going whenever they felt like it. If I was turning right, I’d be fine. Pretty easy, eh? But I wasn’t turning right. I was turning left which was really terrible because I had to watch traffic from three directions and try to turn without killing anyone! Which doesn’t sound that hard, right? But in an uncontrolled intersection with everyone going whenever they want, that’s scary! It wasn’t too long before I was able to go though, all things considered. I was so glad to be out of that intersection! And thankfully the next traffic light was running as usual. So the traffic light having no power was not fun, but the school having no power was pretty golden. Then I came home and took these photos of my beautiful garden!

Pea plants!

IMG_9918

IMG_9926

Andddd carrots!

One thought on “A New Garden and a Power Outage

  1. Pingback: Garden and Flowers | let it shine

Leave a Reply

