Oh, Canada!

I got back from Canada on Monday evening, but I haven’t blogged yet because I’ve been tired and busy! Wednesday I started school again. I have to take summer classes so that I can graduate on time next spring. At least it gives me something to do. Wednesday was also Canada Day! As I’m Canadian, and I spent two weeks with my relatives learning how to be a ‘true Canadian’, of course I had to celebrate, by wearing this awesome shirt that Arianna bought me.

tilly-canada-day-FB-3242

When my mom saw the shirt, which says ‘Canada made’, she informed me that I was actually made in Alaska, I was just born in Canada… okay, then. But still! I was born there and lived there for the first six months of my life!

So from the beginning. Two and a half weeks ago, on Sunday dad took Elijah and I up to Canada to my grandparents’ house. They have a pool so that was awesome; we got to go swimming! The next day I baked scones and Elijah and I (but mostly Elijah) raked the grass for grandpa. Elijah taught me how to play ‘Mary Had a Little Lamb’ on the piano, and I taught myself the first two lines of ‘Come Thou Fount’. I used to play the piano when I was little, but haven’t played since I was nine, when my grandma who taught me piano passed away. Elijah and I helped grandma and grandpa sort chicks. They had a bunch of chicks and were taking some to my auntie Lisa in Calgary so we had to sort out the ones that we were taking. It was fun, and interesting. We took fifteen chicks to auntie Lisa. That evening Braeden (our cousin) came and him and Elijah and I went swimming. After he left, Elijah and I watched old cartoons for a while.

The next day we were supposed to leave at five or six in the morning and I meant to get up at 4:30 or so but I didn’t wake up until grandma knocked on my door a while after five to tell me to get up. My cousin Kayla ended up coming with us too! So we left early Tuesday morning, grandma, grandpa, Kayla, Elijah, and I, along with fifteen chicks. It was crowded! The drive from Maple Ridge, B.C. to Calgary, Alberta, is so beautiful! Before this I’d only been to B.C., and the farthest I’ve been there is Penticton, years ago. So it was fun to get to drive from B.C. to Alberta! And also very boring and tired, but that’s all right. It was great. We got to Calgary in the evening, around five or six I think. Yay! It was awesome to get out of that crowded van haha but even more so I got to see my cousins and aunt and uncle again! Of course I’d seen them just a few weeks before when they were here, but still, I missed them all so badly!

Naomi, Arianna, and I the day I got to Calgary!

The next day we left for Manitoba, where Arianna’s graduation was. My aunt and uncle and cousins were in their truck with their camper, and Arianna and I rode with grandma and grandpa in their van, which was now very roomy. It was awesome! Of course driving gets tiring after a while, but to begin with it was great, and I was with Arianna, my best friend!! So of course it was great. The scenery was beautiful too, and we had fun buying Brisk iced tea at every gas station we stopped at.

Canada-2

 

We’ll not go into how many of these iced teas we drank.

IMG_0826

For meals, we stopped at rest stops and ate from the camper.

Canada-15

Saskatchewan!

Canada-16

Cows… we saw some buffalo at one point, which I didn’t get a picture of, but that was awesome because I’ve never seen real live buffalo before!

Canada-17

Lunch!

And I had a fun snack with lunch as well, a grasshopper. Because… well why not?!

Much more photos and stories to come!

 

 

Leave a Reply

