My Name is Chloe

I just finished this book which I think is really amazing. The series is Diary of a Teenage Girl by Melody Carlson. My sister Kalina was reading the first book about Chloe (My Name is Chloe). I saw it and I kind of laughed at her because of the title and all, but she insisted it was a really good book. I read the back of the book and decided maybe I’d give it a try.

Chloe, Josh Miller’s younger sister, is a free spirit with funky clothes and dramatic hair. She struggles with her own identity, classmates, parents, boys, and — her biggest question — whether or not God is for real. But this unconventional high school freshman definitely doesn’t hold back when she meets Him in a big, personal way. Refusing to change her image to fit into the “stereotypical Christian preppy mold,” Chloe expresses God’s love and grace through the girl band she forms, Redemption. In her development as a musician and performer, tender-hearted Chloe will learn tough lessons about following God, her heart, and her dreams.

(copied from the description on Amazon)

So okay, I read the first few chapters and it seemed pretty good. Then I sat down and read the rest of it in one evening. This is such a good book! All I can say is, don’t judge a book by its cover… I really thought this would just be some dumb book about how being a teenager is so hard and blah blah blah. But it’s not, it’s a really touching story of a searching girl going from questioning everything to finding stability and love from God. But it’s not about how Chloe’s life gets all perfect after she becomes a Christian, not at all. It really deals with a lot of issues, like how bad things still happen and that’s okay, and how the one ultimate authority in your life should be God.

Kalina saw I had finished the book and said, ‘Oh I have the second one’ casually. What!!! I was so excited because this was such a good book. So I read the second one, Sold Out, last night. It was just as good! I started the third one, Road Trip, but I haven’t finished it yet.

Okay so don’t think this book is some cheesy Christian book like ‘Oh I became a Christian and all my friends did and we have the best life now and we all lived happily ever after’ because again, that is not what this book is. Not that there’s anything necessarily wrong with that kind of book. But this isn’t that book. It’s about a normal girl dealing with the normal issues of life, just like you and me. So I’d just say- give it a try! Also, I just saw the Melody Carlson is the author of a bunch of series like My Amish Boyfriend and Dating Games and stuff I haven’t read any of her other books, so I don’t know if I like them or not. But I do love these Diary of a Teenage Girl books that I’ve read so far!

Leave a Reply

