Recipe: Sugar Cookies

20140320_8226 copy

I mentioned before that my favorite thing to bake is sugar cookies. Here is the recipe I use!

Mary’s Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup softened butter

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon almond extract (I never use this, and the cookies are still delicious)

2 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

_______

Cream together the butter and sugar until smooth. Add egg and vanilla and almond extract and blend well. Combine the flour, baking soda, and cream of tartar, and add to wet ingredients. (At this point you have to mix it for a while and it will seem like you put too much flour, but keep mixing and maybe use your hands) Cover and refrigerate for at least two hours. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Roll dough 1/4 inch thick and cut out shapes. Bake 8 minutes or until lightly brown.

This is the recipe I use for my icing.

Snowflake cookies I made

Snowflake cookies I made

20140320_8225

Snowman and Frozen Heart cookies I made for our Frozen party

20140401_9379 copy

Jellyfish cookies I made for our trip to the aquarium.

The fish cookies didn't look so great,but I still had fun making them.

The fish cookies didn’t look so great,but I still had fun making them.

Manta Ray cookies.

Manta Ray cookies.

20140401_9391 copy

Starfish cookies.

20140401_9394

The cookies waiting to be frosted.

20140401_9393

The cookie cutters I used.

For our Frozen party I made snowmen and frozen hearts, which were easy. I also made snowflake cookies using our star-shaped cookie cutter, and they turned out really well. For our trip to the aquarium I used the bell-shaped cookie cutter for the fish and manta rays. I also used the heart for a few of the fish. I used the snowman cookie cutter for the jellyfish- I just cut the edges of the hat off before I baked them. The starfish were fairly simple too. This is my favorite sugar cookie recipe and the one I use every time.

Leave a Reply

