Recipe: Chocolate Fudge

This recipe for chocolate fudge is from the Hershey’s website. Here is a link to the recipe.

Before I post the recipe, I need to say, I absolutely suck at making fudge. I’ve made fudge a lot of times, but it’s only turned out how it’s supposed to twice. That doesn’t include this time. That’s kind of discouraging. But I keep making it, because, practice makes perfect, right? Or as I like to say, practice makes less pathetic… and it still tastes just as good!

This is my all-time favorite recipe for chocolate fudge. Also the only recipe for chocolate fudge that I’ve ever used. But hey, who’s keeping track?

Chocolate Fudge

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups sugar
  • 2/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Line an 8″ pan with tin foil, first coating the tin foil lightly with butter. Mix sugar, cocoa, and salt in a heavy 4-quart saucepan. Stir in milk. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until mixture boils. Boil without stirring until mixture reaches 234 degrees Fahrenheit on candy thermometer (soft ball stage) . Remove from heat. Add butter and vanilla, do not stir. Cool at room temperature to 110 degrees Fahrenheit. Beat with a wooden spoon until fudge thickens and just begins to lose some of its gloss. Quickly spread into prepared pan, cool completely. Cut into squares.

Fudge can be tricky (or maybe I’m just really bad at it.) I basically copied the instructions from the page I’ve got printed out, but for (slightly) more detailed instructions, click over to the recipe on the website.

IMG_3302

IMG_3303

IMG_3309

IMG_3313

IMG_3315

The finished product!

Leave a Reply

